Don't particularly enjoy biology as major. Is Movement Science okay to switch to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sconnybarry132

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a junior pre-med student who is majoring in Biology. I am contemplating switching to Movement science because i LOVED my anatomy class. I am so much more interested in the way the human body works and would rather focus on this for the rest of my time in undergrad rather than looking at microscopic bacteria for another 2 years. I should also add that i want to become an orthopedic physician, or sports medicine physician, because I have been an athlete my whole life and I would really enjoy treating athletic-related injuring.
However, with this switch i am afraid i will have to do another year in order to fill my required classes for the Movement Science major... will this look bad for medical school admissions? Also, my science-GPA is by no means stellar (3.09), so will switching to a "health science" major hurt me since i will not be able to take as many science classes to boost this (I have only about 6 more science/math classes left i can take). All of my pre-reqs for med school are basically done besides O-chem II (which i am taking this semester), Microbio, and Bio chem. My overall gpa is also not stellar (3.28), but i believe that taking classes i am generally more interested in will allow me to get better grades and really boost it over the next two years.