DO's and Rad Onc: can they mix?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aerial

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been asked before but I wanted to hear some fresh opinions.

I recently learned what an incredibly exciting and challenging field Rad Onc is and how it just may be the right one for me. One problem (or is it not?): I'm a DO student. I am in my second year so I guess I have time to recoup whatever losses that may bring by doing research and getting to know people. But that leads to two more problems: who's would be willing to talk to me and where am I supposed to find these people if my school has no affiliations to any Rad Onc programs?

Just to make things even more interesting, this is an incredibly difficult residency to get into (sorry for stating the obvious). I'll be taking my boards this summer and intend on doing well. Although I have done well in my classes, most DO students aren't well known for their standardized test taking abilities-- and it worries me that Step 1 is used as a cutoff at many programs, especially the stronger ones.

Knowing that something I'm really interested in might be off limits is very upsetting. What are some of the challenges I'll be facing? Appreciate your honesty and thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

aerial said:
I'm sure this has been asked before but I wanted to hear some fresh opinions.

I recently learned what an incredibly exciting and challenging field Rad Onc is and how it just may be the right one for me. One problem (or is it not?): I'm a DO. (Well, I'm going to be a DO.) I am in my second year so I guess I have time to recoup whatever losses that may bring by doing research and getting to know people. But that leads to two more problems: who's going to want to talk to me and where am I supposed to find these people if my school has no affiliations to any Rad Onc programs?