Doubts - Can I Make Med School Anymore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

After you've read the message: Can I make it?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Mac656

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, it's about time to choose my classes for the spring semester but to do that, I would have to figure out whether there's any point to carrying on the way I am. I'm a first semester pre-med freshman at NYU Arts and Sciences. My four classes have given out unofficial midterm grades, which follow

Essay Writing - B
Biology - C (now probably at a C+, B-)
Chemistry - C (now probably at a B-, B)
Conversations of the West (philosophy requirement): C- (probably still the same)

I'm only a freshman, or so everybody reminds me when I tell them that I'm not sure whether I can make any med schools anymore. The truth is, I can pull the biology up to a B+, B and the same with the chemistry. I don't know how the essay and ConWest class will come out, but probably where they are right now. With these grades, is med school out of reach or not? If it is, it's time that I start going down a different path before it's too late for any other career plans. I'd rather not do chem and bio if they're just detailed and difficult courses that will mean nothing for my future career path (some of what I'm looking at has nothing to do with the health sciences).

Members don't see this ad.

Your still a freshman, you have plenty of time to explore different health careers and see what you truely like. Try some research, voluneer in an ER, go to a dental clinic ex... Your GPA freshman year will NOT keep you out of medical school as long as u can show significant improvment later on.

Don't give up if its something your interested in.

The truth is, if you keep on getting C's at this rate, you probably need to reconsider your plans.