Down and out but still HOPEFUL

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lolita88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting. I really need advice and serious advice not the 'you can't do it,' 'nope not a chance,' 'forget it and give it up' type of "advice." I'm looking for people who have been there done that, people with advice that I can take and run with. Giving up for me right now.. IS NOT AN OPTION.

Here's my story. I started volunteering in research as a junior (summer) at a very prestigious school/hospital. I turned that volunteering into an internship for my last semester of my senior year. After completing that internship, I was able to go straight into a job with a related research study for about a year and a half until it ran out of funding. I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and Sociology. During that time, I was lost and confused wondering where I should go.. graduate school or medical school. I started taking random courses and performed sub-par. At that time, I was working anywhere between 40-60 hours per week on top of two classes. My work really affected my grades.

I moved to a different country and having been taking undergraduate pre-requisite courses for medical school and have failed almost all of them. Since moving here, I've experienced financial issues, security in my living situation, stress with relationships (boyfriend and his family) and was getting very little sleep.

I am progressing into better habits, more sleep (regular hours and not sleeping at 6am to wake up at 8am etc.), working, moving into my own place with a friend. I WANT to get into medical school and am willing to do anything to get in. I have access to two references that are really at the top of their field, research experience and I'm pulling the minority card with hopes that it actually helps.