Other OT-Related Information Dropping out of OT School in a Trump Era?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OTwannabe3

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm currently in my first semester of OT school and I LOVE the program and I'm doing fine so far. However, every time I turn on the news it makes me question my career choice.

I'm absolutely TERRIFIED of what will happen to the rehab profession if medicare and medicaid get cut by as much as whats currently stated. I've already read about peds clinics in texas going out of business because of medicaid cuts in TX. Predictions are already coming out that many nursing homes will go out of business due to these cuts.

Even if this bill doesn't pass the senate, congress will most likely repeal the ACA which is something more republicans will get on board with.

Any thoughts from those in the profession??

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi guys,

I'm currently in my first semester of OT school and I LOVE the program and I'm doing fine so far. However, every time I turn on the news it makes me question my career choice.

I'm absolutely TERRIFIED of what will happen to the rehab profession if medicare and medicaid get cut by as much as whats currently stated. I've already read about peds clinics in texas going out of business because of medicaid cuts in TX. Predictions are already coming out that many nursing homes will go out of business due to these cuts.

Even if this bill doesn't pass the senate, congress will most likely repeal the ACA which is something more republicans will get on board with.

Calm down! OT is one of the most stable jobs out there. If it comes to it, the COTAs and the OTAs will go before us. Billing and evals are crucial for facilities. You should look into your individual state and how there budgeting is situated. I live in Illinois so it is difficult to justify going to Chicago State Uni.