Dropping out of WSU BMS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

virajpatel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone I am enrolled in the Wayne State BMS program and have found the first two week very overwhelming. Maybe this is due to the fact that I was a psychology major in undergrad and only took the perquisite courses to apply to dental school. I have 3 days until I can get my tuition refunded and drop the program to perhaps pursue post bacc courses instead. My question is if anyone was in the program with a similar background as me could you please tell me how you overcame the struggles, if there were any? Also, does it reflect poorly on me if I drop the program?

Please provide your feedback as I am really in need of some advice before these 3 days are over.

Members don't see this ad.

Stop being a baby and start studying.

Reactions: 2 users
How will dental schools know that you've dropped out of it?

I don't know anything about the program, but it doesn't seem like it could possibly be anymore difficult than dental school. To echo what the other poster said, you might have to suck it up and camp out in some library. Find a study group. Organize your time well (schedule every hour of your day at the beginning of the week, so you don't spend too much time thinking, "what's next"). Read the book before lecture even. Anything to give yourself an advantage.

Members don't see this ad :)
SMPs vs Post-Bacchs have been discussed ad nauseam on this forum. You can dig around to decide if it would be detrimental for you to drop out of your current program.

Your major is only as much of a hinderance as you perceive it to be. There are numerous examples of individuals succeeding on this forum that did not come from a core science background.