duaman: what do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jim Henderson

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Dr. Henderson! How are you?...Well, i just wanted to get some opinion on how i am doing so far and any tips for admission to a Medical school. I am a second year student at UCLA leaning towards biochemistry. I enjoy chem a lot, however, i am not the greatest chemist, and although i study very hard-- even my dad tells me to lay off the books sometimes-- i do not score at the top of the class. My overall gpa right now is a 3.09 ( includes only 4 courses at UCLA)....and i am a bit nervous, because although i am doing my best, and i am learning a lot, it is not where medical scools would like it. My situation is a tad strange. Last quarter, my first at UCLA, i pulled through an A in Calculus, a B+ in G.Chem, and a very sickening C in first year Bio. That C was very saddening, but like my dad said--" You did your best, now just move on" and i have. The problem with that class was, that besides being taught by very uninspiring professors, every test was in the form of multiple choice; i really have a problem with those kinds of tests even though i put in a lot of effort, and i get a good understanding of the material; that doesn't apply just to bio...in calc, and chem, i do a lot of the problems, and try to avid memorizing, and i do well in those problem solving courses. That was my first C ever. The first two quarters, previous to Spring 99, i had gotten mostly all A's, and a few B's taking my premed courses at a j.c. because i did not enroll at UCLA until Spring 99. Keep in mind that i have soph units, even though i have only taken one quarter at UCLA. So i am relatively new with the univ. style although i get a good grasp of the material in every course. My grades were pretty good in Calc, and G. chem, but my Bio grade was pathetic, in my opinion. But i put that behind me, a