DUI in my 3rd year of clinical psychology doctoral program. Placement, internships, licensing?

Feb 17, 2021
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychology Student
Hi everyone,

I am in my 3rd year of my doctoral program, and I work with kids and families. I made a dumb mistake and drove home after the bar. I hadn't had a drink since 11:30 and we left at 2:30 AM and I felt fine. I got pulled over after almost missing my exit and I blew .1 (only .02 over our legal limit here). After speaking to lawyers, I think I'm probably going to be charged with an Operating while visually impaired, which in michigan is a "lesser" alcohol related driving charge that will still go on my criminal record as a misdemeanor. I am currently licensed in michigan to practice psychology (LLP), and I will be applying for clinical internships in 2 years. I am so worried about what will happen with this charge on my record. Is it even worth me continuing in my program, if I won't be able to get an internship?

I am looking for any experience or advice with this from professionals in clinical psychology. I know it's a terrible thing to do, but I also know that many people have had DUIs. Has anyone had experience or known anyone with one DUI and how did that go with applying to internships/licensure in any states, not just michigan? What about getting jobs in the future? SOS

AcronymAllergy

Neuropsychologist
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychologist