E.M.T.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mish550

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know how long it takes to become a certified E.M.T.?
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Some institutions offer an intense two week course. Just do your clinical or ride along, and your set.

On average, it takes approximately 5-6 months to be an EMT depending on the curriculum and number of times per week classes are. I went twice a week for 6 months and was also required to do 20 hrs of ER rotations.

It is best to get your EMT through a volunteer fire dept (like myself) or ambulance corp, because it will be free and just taking the course will not be enough. In order to get the most out of the experience you need to respond to calls regularly to actually get hands on experience.

I am a paramedic, which requires even more training. I volunteer as a firefighter/paramedic, as well as work in the NYC 911 EMS system. I start medical school in august.

Good luck to all and feel free to ask me questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
One of you said two weeks and another is saying six months....does anyone else know how long it usually takes??

It varies a lot from state to state. In Tennessee the classes are taught through the community college system. The time required for EMT is two semesters. I don't know what other states may require.

In NC it was a once-a-week course, about four hours long that lasted from May through August... I took the state exam, which was given several times through out the year, in september.
Definitely check with your state's requirements because they are not all the same.

I am from NC and I agree with Hamster.