Early Graduate (3 years with degree)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cherr1pop

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in college but I'm planning to graduate after 2 years and go to dental school. I will be coming out with an undergrad degree (Biology B.A.). I was wondering how this will affect my chances of getting into dental school. I am a little worried about not having too much courses on my transcript. I will only have done 2 years of bio(1 yr general, mole bio, biochem) & chemistry (general & org) when I turn in my application next summer. I had to push physics/genetics/upper division bio to my last year. If anyone has any experience in this, please let me know!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I'm in that situation right now. I took summer classes thinking I could gain an edge and try to get in after three years of undergrad without a degree. It turns out I've taken so many hours in the summer and about 19/semester that I will be graduating this upcoming May. It's crazy to think I'm getting my degree in only 3 years of undergrad, but I think all the hard work will truly pay off. Hopefully it shows the adcom my dedication and someone will accept me..

as long as you're getting a degree, i think it actually makes you look better. considering the fact that many people don't even finish college in 4 years, 3 sounds pretty amazing. I think it shows you can handle a tough load and that you are dedicated to academics.
i've also finished my degree in three years with about 4 summer courses i took plus ap credits and such, so maybe i just sound like im gloating :D but i certainly dont think its a negative thing?!?
my number choice right now is pacific so i figure that my undergrad reflects their program as well...
but who knows.

Members don't see this ad :)