Earning potential in PP vs Academia

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by soccerboy2288, May 13, 2018.

1. soccerboy2288

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Hi guys, I'm currently a resident at a metropolitan area. I'm midway through training and had some questions, as I am looking in to different career options. Though I know there are big differences between PP and academia, this thread primarily focuses on the pay. I always heard and thought that PP makes more than academia overall (works more but makes more), but is that really the case? For example, say a PP gig makes $450-500k/year working 50hrs/week vs academia makes $300-350 working 40hrs/wk with less call (I know this can vary a lot, but lets just say the difference is about $150k/year between the two). Say tax is roughly 40% (keep in mind I am located in a metropolitan area along the lines of NY, Boston, Chicago, LA, etc). This gap f what appears to be $150k is now about $90k/yr. Additionally, given that PP folks have to pay for their own malpractice, dental, and medical insurance, is the difference in pay really that significant?

My questions is, approximately how much do PP folks pay for medical/dental/malpractice insurance in a metropolitan area? I have heard that people spend roughly $80k on everything combined (saw it somewhere on this forum), which really makes the total income about he same between PP and academia. Or do lots of PP gigs offer their own benefit packages? In addition many academic jobs offer pension/retirement plans.

I am quite naive when it comes to post-residency stuff, so a lot of the assumptions above may sound ridiculous but I wanted to see what people have to say to this, thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. nimbus

nimbus Member
    10+ Year Member

Generally the reported income is after all those expenses are paid. It’s an apples to apples comparison.

4. soccerboy2288

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]