ASA Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 28, 2003
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I'm a med student.
I've passed the step1, and going to take the step2 CK & CS this summer.
However, I graduate at the end of March 2006.
That means I won't get the ECFMG certificate until then.

The application and interviews are in Oct-Dec.
The ROL and Match season is in mid March. (SF match is in January)
I'll not be certified by the time I get matched.

Does this mean I am not eligible to join the match 2006?
I'll get the certificate by the 1st day of residency though.
Could someone clarify this, please?

Thanks in advance.

Skip Intro

15+ Year Member
Apr 29, 2002
Status
Attending Physician
snowman8 said:
You should start the ECFMG process as soon as possible, if you haven't already.

Both medical school students and graduates may begin the certification process. However, since one of the requirements for ECFMG Certification is that your medical diploma be independently verified by your medical school to ECFMG, you cannot complete the certification process until you graduate and receive your diploma. The time required for some aspects of the certification process, such as the time required by your medical school to verify your medical diploma, are beyond the control of ECFMG.
http://www.ecfmg.org/cert/index.html

Provided that the ECFMG certifies your eligibility, you can participate in the Match next year. You just will have to have your final ECFMG certification by the time you begin residency in July.

The only state that has some screwy requirements is California. Since I'm not applying in California and don't know the details, perhaps someone else can tell you the specifics (if that is an issue for you).

Long story short, just make sure you've started your ECFMG certification process. If you've taken Step 1 already, you certainly have and should be okay for next year's Match.

Good luck.

-Skip

ALMD2B

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 17, 2003
Visit site
Status