Dec 9, 2012
Status
Im a non traditional student currently taking the pre-med classes, but I am wondering what else I should be doing and HOW to go about it. Im non traditional not because I had some great career with a ton of experience but because I took a year off after college(working dead end jobs) and then doing a semester of law school before deciding that I wanted to pursue medicine. So right now I dont have any of the traditional pre-med ECs or any non traditional ones. In fact the only ECs I have are 5 years of dead end retail experience, off and on off the books carpentry work(as an assistant) and a few volunteer experiences while in law school.

Right now I am working informally(off the books) as a carpenter's assistant, but I am looking for something on the books(will probably end up being retail). All the desirable jobs that would be useful for premed require either a certification or a ton of experience where I live(a lot of these jobs are taken by people who make a career out of it) so those are out.

So what I CAN do:
-retail job with occasional carpentry work thrown in
-shadowing
-volunteering

But I see some post on here and I wonder, "how can I even compete with that?". Like how would I even go about getting research without a science background?(my undergrad was in philosophy). I just feel like there is a lot more I need to be doing and I dont know how to go about it. The good news is that I dont plan on applying until June 2015, so I have time but I would appreciate it if somebody could point me in the right direction.

CapCrunch

5+ Year Member
Oct 31, 2012
East of Eden
Status
Pre-Medical