1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

EC's question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by EVIL06, Nov 28, 2005.

1. EVIL06

EVIL06 Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    im only a freshman and I was wondering if avg med matriculants have more or less EC's than they did when they applied undergrad. Also wondering what EC's you guys may have. Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. odrade1

odrade1 UASOM alum
    5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    As you may already know, being a successful medical school applicant is a matter of jumping through a number of subjective and objective hoops, followed by a weeding out process to make sure you aren't a freak (the interview). ECs largely fall under the "subjective" hoop realm, though in my case the lines are blurred somewhat. To make it through, you must have volunteered, and you must have shadowed physicians or explored medicine sufficiently. I tend to think of these activities as EC's, though I admit I may not be in the majority opinion on that one.

I made it into med school (on my first try), and I had:
    *a 2.9 my freshman year, with ever increasing grades thereafter, cumulating in a 3.72 overall gpa and two honors degrees.
    *a 33 MCAT
    *strong rec letters
    *mediocre volunteer quantity
    *good volunteer quality (I could articulate clearly how the volunteering affected me & how it contributed to my awareness of the correctness of my career choice in medicine.)
    *terrible shadowing quantity
    *decent shadowing quality
    *zero clubs/ECs
    *a handful of honor societies
    *3 good research experiences