Egyptian Rivers and Knee-Jerk Reactions: A Military Cultural Case Study

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Well written...

I clearly fall into the "Denial" category as a lowly 3rd year HPSP student who is completely powerless to do anything but study and cross my fingers, hoping that none of this will happen to me. Since I do not have any military medical experience thus far, I am far too ignorant to make any opinions for myself and have nothing but this forum to rely upon for my information. I log onto the forum each time I feel like procrastinating and read post after post about the abysmal state of military medicine and wonder what exactly I have gotten myself into. I have no military experience or significant military connections, but felt a sense of duty and patriotism after the events of 9/11 that further fueled my desire to be more than just your typical doctor. I wanted to be a part of something "more significant" than simply opening up a private practice or becoming a hospitalist. I thought that becoming a military doctor would satisfy those desires. For all I know, it still may be the case. I have to at least have a shred of optimism lest I progress through the stages before I have even begun residency.

This entire forum is like a trainwreck to me - it's terrible to look at, but I just can't help but stare. I know that the vast majority of members on this forum have had undesirable experiences with military medicine, but I am positive that someone somewhere has had a positive experience while still considered to be a "good doctor" or a "competent physician". I just pray that I will end up being one of those minority and actually enjoy my time with the Army while getting solid residency training. However, I have begun to realize that it may be too much to ask.