Einstein vs. Rochester vs. Jefferson

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

geminimd9

Reaction score
Hi all ,

I'm having a hard time deciding between these three schools for the various pros and cons listed below. And of course not having second look this year makes the decision a little tougher. I care most about training in an urban and underserved area. I also want to be in a school that cares about students of color and underserved patients. While i'm staying open in terms of residency, I will probably end up choosing to do neurology (long standing interest). Finally, I just want to be in a school that is collaborative, where I'll connect with my peers, and where I'll be most happy. I come from a very liberal undergrad and I'm not the most traditional pre-med (i'm also a musician and heavily into the arts ) I would appreciate any input.

Einstein

Pros:
-close to family and close friends
-Grew up in the Bronx so familiar with area
-students match in institutions where I would like to match during 4th year
-Will be trained to care for the kinds of patients I want to serve
-Seems to align with my academic and personal goals for medical school

Cons:
-Financial aid package not the best
-Didn't really get a sense of student vibe during interview day due to the format of the day
-Have had staff be rude on the phone both in the admissions and financial aid department
-Don't know much about how the institution cares about students of color
-2+2 curriculum (not necessarily a priority for me)
-didn't like the subsidized housing
-Very research focused (at least during interview day)

Rochester

pros:
-small class
-shortened curriculum
-students also match very well but not necessarily in NYC (where I want to end up eventually)
-Great interview day and felt a deep connection with my interviewer and the institution as a whole
-Offered a really neat financial aid package and the housing is very cheap

cons: