EM resident applying for IM position

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

waterski232002

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an EM resident and just curious if I were to do an IM residency, how many months of credit (if any) an EM residency grad could get. Does anyone know any EM residents who have gone on to do IM residencies?

Members don't see this ad.

waterski232002 said:
I am an EM resident and just curious if I were to do an IM residency, how many months of credit (if any) an EM residency grad could get. Does anyone know any EM residents who have gone on to do IM residencies?

Not from personal experience but somewhere here http://www.saem.org/rescat/contents.htm it states that you can receive up to 6 months credit toward a medicine residency but this is at the discretion of the residency director.

waterski232002 said:

i would be very interested in the details of why you want to switch to IM from EM?
I am considering EM with some other things and would love your perspective.

Members don't see this ad :)
threepeas said:
i would be very interested in the details of why you want to switch to IM from EM?
I am considering EM with some other things and would love your perspective.

I have no desire to ever practice IM... The only reason I am considering it is to get board certified in Critical Care. Then I would split time in the ICU and in the ED. However, I could do anesthesiology and then get boarded in Critical Care as well. The other option is just to the Critical Care fellowship straight out of EM but then not get board certified... it would just drastically limit my marketability and job options.

anesthesia is the fastest way to CCM board certification.