emailing before/during the scramble

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbass1350

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Carib grad looking to match (or more likely scramble) into a spot this year. I have obtained scans of all my records (scores, transcripts, ECFMG certification, etc...) and have consolidated them into a single pdf file. I am planning to email these files to PDs either before or during the scramble period.

My logic for this strategy is that it seems to be a more efficient approach than using faxes or phone lines. Of course I will be also using ERAS, but that will be limited to the number of slots before they start charging me.

My questions are:

- Is it considered kosher to call programs before the scramble, tell them that I am likely to not match, and ask them if they are interested in my profile? Will I be breaking any laws by doing this or will it annoy PDs? ( I am considering using the list of unfilled programs in the previous years as a general guideline for whom to contact).

- What is your personal opinion on using emails instead of faxing during the scramble (assuming no one answers the phones - which they probably won't).

Thanks for your time

Members don't see this ad.

You'll probably annoy programs if you call before the scramble, unless you can see into the future and know what programs need to scramble.

Applicants don't find out until March 16th. Programs won't know if they fill until the 17th (unless they had five interviews for six spots... but there's no way to know this info).

I am already getting emails like this. They usually ask me to "keep their application on file in case I have any post match openings". I usually don't end up in the scramble, so I put them in that handy circular file located on my computer desktop called the "recycle bin". But other programs which end up in the scramble may hold onto them.