Embryology and abortion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LovingItAll

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year med student. We've been studying some embryo.

I'll admit up front, I'm pro-life, anti-death.

So - my question to everyone who's taken some embryo: In all your studies thus far, have your thoughts/opinions on the abortion issue changed or been reinforced?

For me - it's been reinforced. That's a human being in there, and my embryo book is full of facts proving it - from having a unique DNA sequence different from the mother (making it not merely part of the mother's body, not merely "tissue") and has easily recognizable human body parts, etc.

How is destroying that unique human life not murder?

How is destroying that unique human life any different than killing that same human life a mere 9 months further along in its development? Outside the uterus its ok, but inside the uterus its ok?

Yes, I know, this is a political hot button - but this isn't the dinner table.... and it need not degrade into a debate on abortion. I'm more interested in knowing how, if at all, your study of embryo has affected your position on the issue.

Anyone?

Members don't see this ad.

I ignored most of embryo so naturally it didn't have much effect on my views. I doubt it would strongly affect many people one way or the other, although it's possible that a few might change.

I could see how seeing it would confirm your view, but then again I could see how it could also confirm the other view. I mean, sometimes it just looked "not human", having pharyngeal slits and looking like a reptile sometimes. I dunno

This is not an appropriate forum for discussing political views.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by doc05
This is not an appropriate forum for discussing political views.