SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Emergency Medicine

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by mountaindoc, Feb 8, 2002.

1. mountaindoc

mountaindoc Junior Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Glendale,AZ
    Can someone please shed some light on this field. As far as "lifestyle " fields are concerned, this one seems to be the grand daddy! Great hours. Great pay. Lots of problem solving and procedures, and you leave the real hardcore stuff for the surgeons. I'm a first year DO student shadowing an ER doc who has a great schedule, 12 10's a month, and makes well over 200k. What's the downside of all this? I know the interest in this field is rising fast. Half my class seems to want to go into this field. I'm shooting for an MD program. What is the competition like? How important are grades? Boards? Are entry level positions hard to get?
    Thanks

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. EMDrMoe

EMDrMoe Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Mar 15, 2001
    Tampa
    There are a couple of other posts on here about EM. Freeeedom! (I may have not enough or too many e's there) is a good resource. He's done a ton of research and has the facts. Good luck :)

4. Freeeedom!

Freeeedom! Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Feb 21, 2001
    I am a ninja
    ATC2MD...I am blushing!