Emory vs. UAB

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fooman

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's the situation. I've been accepted to both UAB and Emory medical school. I am having a difficult time deciding on which one to attend. Here are the factors:

1. UAB is in my hometown where I currently live. Emory is only 2 hours away so in terms of location, both are just as good. Atlanta is a bigger city though.

2. Emory is about $37k per year (including room & board) while UAB is only $11k per year since I'm a state resident.

3. I will get a scholarship that would possibly pay for my entire tuition cost at UAB. For Emory, I'm hoping to get some financial aid or loans.

4. In terms of ranking, according to US News, Emory is ranked 22 while UAB is 27.

Based on these factors and your own factors, which one would you go to? I'd like to hear some opinions.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you kidding me?! It seems like you've already chosen UAB. Go with your instinct, man.

Lets see...I think I would probably move off to a new city to live in some crappy apartment and not know anybody all so I can end up leaving school with a debt of over $100,000, and the knowledge that I got my MD from a place that was 7 spots higher than that other crappy state school on some arbitrary US News ranking :p

P.S. GO TO UAB

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah the large debt from going to Emory is suck.

I was wondering though on residency matching, does the success of matching depend also on the reputation of the school? In this case, I think Emory has a better name (at least in the South). Just wondering if that is a factor.

I think they have comparable reputation. Wouldn't give you a significant advantage if you choose one over the other, reputation wise.

yeah the difference between 27th and 22nd is not that significant.