1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

EMT Basic

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Yes Sir, May 3, 2007.

1. Yes Sir

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hello, Two years ago as a freshman I became an EMT Basic. I never had any interest in med school but after this course I decided that is was I wanted to do. I had a few questions about the strength of this on my resume counting towards clinical experience. Also I have never acutally used it and it will expire soon. Is it worth my time to renew it or would my time be better spent just volunteering somewhere. Thank you.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gudog

10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I would hang on to it, and use it, also. Consider working some part time, both for the money and for the experience.

4. blrnystn

Medical Student
    My advice is to get a part time job working for an ambulance company. There's usually a high turnover rate, so just be persistent with applying and you'll get one. I followed a similar path as you, going for the EMT B ticket and getting seriously interested in medicine as a career. I'm now getting ready to start med school in Aug and I can say that I was asked about my 10 months of ambulance work at almost every interview.

Compared to volunteer work, as an EMT will probably play a more active role. Plus the job teaches you responsibility and ability to handle stress, two things that will be necessary for a career in medicine. And you will definitely have experiences to draw on for your personal statements and essays for med school applications.