EMT Course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

603pharmacy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I was discussing Med School with my pre-med advisor yesterday and we were discussing EMT courses. I'm a sophomore so it would be useless and pointless for me to take an EMT course now, but lets say a senior in high school takes a course before entering college, would this really give him an edge in applying to Med Schools? He obviously would volunteer as an EMT, not just get the certification and do nothing with it. But lets say he does volunteer on an ambulance while in college, would it give him a leg up in applying?

Members don't see this ad.

Are you asking if being an EMT is seen as a "better" experience than other similar ECs? I don't think so.

How is it pointless to take it sophomore year?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,

I was discussing Med School with my pre-med advisor yesterday and we were discussing EMT courses. I'm a sophomore so it would be useless and pointless for me to take an EMT course now, but lets say a senior in high school takes a course before entering college, would this really give him an edge in applying to Med Schools? He obviously would volunteer as an EMT, not just get the certification and do nothing with it. But lets say he does volunteer on an ambulance while in college, would it give him a leg up in applying?