EMT-Paramedic thinking of being an MD someday

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gatewayhoward

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a 23 year old paramedic and I've just decided last week to look into finishing up my 2 year degree in a pre med program. I'm very interested in cardiology, the heart and rhythms came naturally to me durring class.

I have a good idea about the process of getting into med school and it's something I've never felt more driven to accomplish in all my life. I'm also planning on keeping my paramedic certification forever. I also know what I'm getting into, I know medicine is not easy, it's more like hell and I'm just crazy enough to love devoting my life to it.

The only things that are really working against me is:
1. the inflexible hours of a revolving 911 schedule
2. the fact that I'm a late bloomer academically. I've always had the potential to get excellent grades and but I've just began to improve my grades to a B average over the last year or two.

Does anyone have any advice for someone in my situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Keep the grades up! Advice #1.

Second, I'm working full-time, going to school full-time, and taking care of my family (feels like a full-time job). You have to find a way to make it work. Sounds like you're going to have to cut back hours with your EMT job once you get into the advanced sciences because most schools (junior colleges included) don't offer them at night.

You'll make it work, but you have to sacrifice a bit of something to gain something else.

PS- I'm 26, so don't feel like you're starting too late. There are pre-meds in their 40's. Welcome to the fold! Best of luck to you.