EMT Pre-Meds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gxfiles919

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My friend and I have a long running debate. I am an EMT for my school's rescue core and have done some outside work with several 911 agencies. One day I was talking to my friend about my EMT work as being a "plus" come med-school application time and she disagreed. I think that my extensice EMT experience in the field will be a valuable point on my resume (even though my resume will lack research experience). My friend thinks that "tons of med school applicants" are EMT's and that without the research experience I am at a disadvantage.

Any thoughts? Oh, and any other EMT's out there?

Members don't see this ad.

Hate to admit it but everyone is an EMT. I am sorry but I totally agree with your friend.

I'm an EMT-I. I"m in the same boat I guess...and I think its a plus. Not EVERY premed is an EMT. It costs money and takes a lot of time to take the EMT course so I doubt everybody has done it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Being an EMT by itself will not set you apart from every other applicants. I am an EMT-B and I know many other pre-meds who also are. The things that will set you apart though are the amount of time and committment you put into it and any leadership roles with your college rescue squad. Having some sort of clinical experience is a positive thing and medical schools won't look down upon it.

EDIT:
For those of you who are interested in reading more about it, there was a study done in Prehospital and Disaster Medicine on this topic.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/...ve&db=pubmed&dopt=Abstract&list_uids=12357566

how can it be a disadvantage? doing anything worthy for a significant period of time is something to be proud of and noted on your application. if your emt experience has given you this, then you are good to go.