End of freshman year stats...how do they look?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by drpduck, Jun 6, 2002.

1. drpduck

drpduck Senior Member

Dental Student
    I just finished up my freshman year..my GPA is 3.08 overall/science is about the same. I'm taking calc and chem 2 and chem 2 lab over the summer. I'm still interested in applying a year early to schools. I go to school in Baltimore, about 15 mins from UMaryland dental school(I'm also a MD resident). I plan on volunteering in the UMaryland hospital next year. I'm kinda scared about the whole early applying thing though....the assistant dean of admissions at UMaryland said they admit generally less then 5 students a year that apply without a degree. I talked to Su-Ann from Nova and she is mailing me some materials about early admissions. I really want to be a dentist, so I don't feel like hanging around college for any longer then I have to. Also, a concern of mine is when you apply early, do you get your B.S. degree at the end of the first year of dental school? Thanks for your help everyone :)

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. groundhog

groundhog 1K Member

I suspect that you will want to be much closer to 4.0 on your sophomore and junior GPA's if you want to be a competitive candidate for dental school without a bachelors degree. Many dental schools give B.S. degrees to early entrants after successful completion of the first year of dental school.

4. ItsGavinC

Dentist Moderator Emeritus

Dentist
    I thoroughly agree with groundhog's advice. The vast majority of early applicants have stellar stats, along with extracurricular activites. If this is truly what you want to do, then go for it.