Endo fellowship - Can I make it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

letmeinwillya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
PGY-3 in Internal Medicine wants to pursue fellowship in Endo. Have not done any research and don't know where to start. At a community program where research is minimal or non-existent.

I don't know what I don't know about how to make myself look good on resume for applying to Endo fellowship? Is it possible to do full time or part time job and do something in terms of participate in a research endeavor and have that count towards my research activity?

Heard from an attending that some fellowship programs are clinical oriented meaning they may not care for not having any research experience but I also heard disagreement on this among other attendings. Who's right?

If I work as a primary care for sometime, is that a total waste of time towards making me a good Endo applicant?

My reason for going to Endo is lifestyle and hopefully feeling competent because I would be dealing with one area vs primary care which is jack of all trades and don't feel like I will feel confident unless I was specialized in one area.

Thoughts? Ideas? Please guide as I'm clueless about this.

PS: I know I could have asked this at my program but there's a reason I'm asking here ..did I mention I'm clueless when it comes to this..don't know where to start.

Members don't see this ad.

Just to add little more context: If I have zero research to show for. Have done few rotations at a university hospital close to our residency program, is that enough to show interest in Endo and apply to the fellowship at the univ. program? One of our current residents matched at the said university because our program used to be affiliated with the university but has been recently acquired by regional med. group.

Could work in the Endo field before residency be considered as an indication of interest?