Engineer needs help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

masterchemcraig

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm a sophomore bioengineer/biochemistry dual major. I'm not a declared "pre-med", but I'm taking all the necessary classes. I dont' know what I want to do yet, pursue engineering or medicine. But I want to keep my options open. I had a few questions for you all, hopefully you can help.

1.) By the end of this semester, I'll have completed all the courses on the mcat. Should I take the mcat then next semester (the spring semester of my sophomore year), the summer after my sophomore year, or should I wait until my junior year? I'm not sure how long the test is valid after you take it. Should I give it the go this year, or should I take a summer to study for this test and take it later? As an engineer and division I athlete at my school, it's pretty much impossible for me to study for this test during the school year.

2.) Do you find undergraduate teaching (such as bio or ochem) to be helpful for mcat studying, or just a waste of time?

3.) If I were to go do undergrad for 4.5 years or 5 years, when would be the best time to take the test (assume Q1 is for 4 years).

4.) Do you think being an athlete will be a good thing to have on my resume, or will it completely looked over? I'm investing a huge amount of time into it, and although I love it, I don't want it to jeopardize my future if I could be doing something more beneficial in place of it.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

masterchemcraig said:
Hey all. I'm a sophomore bioengineer/biochemistry dual major. I'm not a declared "pre-med", but I'm taking all the necessary classes. I dont' know what I want to do yet, pursue engineering or medicine. But I want to keep my options open. I had a few questions for you all, hopefully you can help.