Engineer to Med School Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mscott32

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, hopefully I placed this in the correct sub forum.

Anyways, I was curious whether Medical school would still be feasible for me at this point in my undergraduate career.

Firstly my major is in Mechanical Engineering.

GPA is currently 3.204 with sGPA ~3.25. I still have 2 full semesters and a summer semester left of school, of which I need to take Biology 2 (lab), Chem 2 (lab), Orgo1&2 (labs) still. Could I bring my sGPA up to a respectable grade with these classes left to go?

As far as work and EC's:

I have done 3 Co-Ops (6 month full time work) during my undergraduate career
~1st in Manufacturing Engineering with Department of Defense,
~2nd in Research&Development Medical Device field, endoscopy (had thorough lab work including cadaver work and biomechanics simulations)
~3rd in Research&Development Medical Device Field, Orthopedic surgery (lots of biologics including dissecting/harvesting, chemical testing, and biomechanics)

As far as volunteering I have ~300 hours of patient contact care,
Shadowing should be up to about ~50 hours including orthopedic surgeon, and primary care physicians.

After graduation I plan on working in the orthopedic surgery medical device field, whilst studying for MCATs and application process.

Basically I'm looking for some validation that I'm going down the right path with my current plan of attack. I'm very concerned that I will be red-lighted simply because of my GPA, without them even considering major and EC's.

As far as which schools I would be considering, it would mainly be SUNY schools as I'm a NY resident. Also would seriously consider NYMC as I could commute from home to campus. Realistically could I become competitive for these schools with my current state?

Thanks for any insight!

Members don't see this ad.