Engineer trying to go to med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GiveMeTheTruthPlease

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a BS in chemical engineering from Carnegie Mellon last year. I finished in 4 years with a 3.2 GPA.

I took calc 1, 2 & 3, diff eq 1, gen chem 1 & 2, organic chem, biochem, chem lab, physics 1 & 2, bio 1, physiology, thermodynamics 1 & 2, fluid mechanics, optimization algorithms, physical chem, heat and mass transfer. I also took (and got A's in) 4 psychology classes: abnormal psych, social psych, clinical psych, and perception & consciousness. Also took a few other chem E classes and chem E labs and a probably a couple other technical classes I'm forgetting.

I got either B's or A's in all of my technical classes except for chem lab, physics 1, calc 2 and calc 3... I got C's. Those were all in freshman and sophomore year. My GPA freshman/sophomore year was about 2.8, my GPA junior/senior year was about 3.5. There are no pluses or minuses at CMU. In case you didn't know CMU is a really difficult school in terms of getting a high GPA. Not that that's an excuse of course.

My college activities basically consisted of sports. I played varsity football, intramural football, intramural basketball, and did club wrestling. I was also pledge class president for a fraternity.

I've been working as a systems engineer since I graduated, doing software programming/coding which is good I guess because it's a good skill to have but annoying because I'm not using any of my knowledge in the physical sciences. Over the past two years my interest in going to med school has increased a lot.