Nov 21, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
So I've been thinking about trying to get into med school, however I have a very low gpa.

Some Background

I have a 2.6, science is about the same as most of my classes were engineering/science.
I was studying mechanical engineering, then switched to bio-medical, and then back to mechanical. I have taken a number of bio-medical electives, as well as bio 1. My degree is from a pretty selective school, but then again... my gpa is a 2.6.

I have experience interning as an engineer at a few medical device companies, and in a robotic surgery lab at Children s Hospital Boston. I also worked briefly at a major medical device company, but realized the position wasn't for me. I won an award for the most outstanding senior design project where I miniaturized and completely re-designed a mechanism to allow an endoscopic surgical tool to be downsized.

Let me mention that my learning style is a very poor fit for an academic environment, and I had a lot of health issues as well during my undergraduate years. Whenever I had a chance to prove myself by working on something hands on and project-based, I pretty much always was the best in my class. It would be an understatement to say that my performance in college was very uneven.

Possible Plan?

From reading and talking to people, it looks like I would have to either take a formal post bacc program for pre-med, take my remaining pre-med requirements (about 7 classes) a-la-carte through a general studies program, and get some experience shadowing and volunteering at a hospital.

Now I'm a bit confused by the med-school tailored SMP's for GPA enhancement. These seem to be for students who have already completed all pre-med requirements and the MCAT, and are really just looking to prove that they have what it takes to get through med school academically? Do any of these gpa-enhancement programs just do pre-med?