English BA looking for a transition job...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mixed Drink

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!
This is my first "official" post on SDN and from what I've seen so far, this is an excellent, supportive, and informative community. I'm looking forward to participating and sharing news of my own.

My question is this:
I'm looking for a full time job I can hold while I complete the post-bac program. Preferrably, this will also be something that would look decent when I start to apply to med schools.

A little about me...
I'm 24 and looking to start down the non-trad road this summer/fall. I graduated from Nyack College w. a BA in English Lit (GPA 2.97) I was sorely unfocused in ugrad, but my transcript is interesting, at least. There are semesters where I'd have a 1.7 and then semesters where I have a 3.89. Motivation is everything...

After I graduated in 2004, I went to NYU for a semester of grad school in Literary theory and playwriting. I withdrew when I figured out that an MA wouldn't make me anymore qualified for any concrete occupation.

For the past 2 years, I worked as an Editorial Assistant in the Computer Science dept of large textbook publishing company. The interest in medicine came out of the blue, as I hadn't really had any previous interest in the sciences. It feels like I'm starting to develop the tertiary characteristics of my personality as I have a strong craving to discover the concrete, scientific aspects of life.

I was accepted into the Rutgers post-bacc program (New Brunswick/non-certificate) and am looking to either start w. a calc class this summer, or two lab sciences this fall. I'm taking an EMT class at the moment and while I recognize that it's fantastic training to have, I'm also slightly frustrated as I want to go into further depth with the material...