English majors?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AwaPremed

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
ANy English major premeds out there?

What do med schools think of English majors? I know many biology majors that seem to think English majors are 'easy' - would English be considered too easy of a major or something? personally i don't think it's easy at all but anyway my fellow premed english majors speak up if you are out there.

Members don't see this ad.

as long as you can back it up with good grades in the pre-reqs, i don't think it matters too much.

A friend of mine is a resident at one of the top schools, and he double-majored in English and history. I agree with the other poster -- I don't think your major matters as much as your grades.

Members don't see this ad :)
I majored in English Lit. minored in Anthro and Bio. If anything, it made me more interesting which is always a plus in the med. school process.
Plus if you study something you like chances are you'll do better in it.

riley5 said:
A friend of mine is a resident at one of the top schools, and he double-majored in English and history. I agree with the other poster -- I don't think your major matters as much as your grades.

I was an english major/bio minor. I have good grades overall (3.75 GPA, 3.96 in my major), so I don't think it will be a problem and may even help me stand out a little. At least I'll be able to talk about something else in my adult life besides just biology and medicine. :p I really enjoyed my major and genuinely feel that I got a much more well-rounded education than if I had majored in bio or chem.