Entering intention of retaking DAT on AADSAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phannay

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How would I input into AADSAS that I plan on retaking the DAT? Currently, my app shows the date I took my first DAT and the date the scores were received.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You can't. There is no longer an option for this on the application. You must contact the dental schools individually to let them know of your retake.

Try using the search link it usually has all the answers you are looking for.

This has been my major issue since the beginning of the application process...I took the DAT back at Christmas break and am retaking at the end of this month:

That being said there were a couple of options that people came up with:

1) Wait till after you have retaken it to e-submit. This ensures that the first time schools see your application will be with your 2nd score included. Keep in mind it can take 4-6 weeks for AADSAS to process your application, as well as verifying transcripts and LoR matching could push that date forward as well.

2) An interesting idea put up on the forums, was E-submit now and only appoint a school that you know you will not be attending. after you have retaken the DAT, appoint the remaining schools on your list, and by the time it gets sent out your new DAT scores should be available. This is kinda theoretical because when I asked the AADSAS they seemed to not know if this would work or not. Aka try at your own risk.

3) Esubmit now, and contact all the schools you appointed letting them know to hold your application until your DAT scores are available. Some schools will allow you to Fax your DAT scores when you get your unofficial score sheet the day you take the test--some will not. From what I understand some schools will not even hold your application (don't quote me on this).