Enviable Position?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fr0g

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I was hoping to get some opinions from some people with experience on how good a position I'm in when it comes to getting into medical school. I'm a sophomore at the University of South Alabama with a 3.7 GPA. I'm double majoring in Biology and Spanish. Forgive me if the following sounds like I'm bragging, but it's honest ignorance of the complexities of medical school admission. Would the fact that my dad is the Medical Director of a Primary Health Center downtown and teaches at my school's medical school section frequently mean that, through connections and such I would be able to list excellent volunteer activities helping out down there, good clinical experience doing rotations with him and his associates, and get good letters of reccommendation from the doctors and surgeons in the community negate that my school isn't highly ranked? I've read that plastic surgery/ENT is highly competitive and takes your medical school greatly into account when applying for residencies, so I was just a little worried about getting into a top 10 medical school since I come from such a humble college. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! ^_^

PS-The reason I don't ask my dad myself is that, as a teenager, I tend to value opinions from my peers more than adults, even though I probably shouldn't so much, hehe.

Members don't see this ad.