ER hours/schedule

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drboris

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am considering EM and I used to be an ER tech in a suburban trauma II ER. However, I don't think that the lifestyle that everyone admires is so great. First of all, the docs in my ER all worked night shifts and weekends. Second, most of them worked the 2-9 shift on weekdays. They worked 7-2 only a few times a week. In other words they are never home on weeknights to see their families and are working on the weekends.

So, I hope I am missing something, but why do people think ER docs have great schedules?

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by drboris
I am considering EM and I used to be an ER tech in a suburban trauma II ER. However, I don't think that the lifestyle that everyone admires is so great. First of all, the docs in my ER all worked night shifts and weekends. Second, most of them worked the 2-9 shift on weekdays. They worked 7-2 only a few times a week. In other words they are never home on weeknights to see their families and are working on the weekends.

So, I hope I am missing something, but why do people think ER docs have great schedules?

Who works the day shift if all the docs in your ER all worked nights and weekends?

My attendings work between 30-42 hours a week and make roughly 200k. The older ones work less nights/weekends than the younger ones but still pull a night or two every couple of weeks. We have a few attendings who prefer to work nights (I plan on being of this type). Most of my attendings, though, work a mix of days, nights, and weekends. You may have been at an ED where there was superiority (i.e. the most experienced ED physicians worked days, with the younger/newer ED guys working nights/weekends). Most places that I know of have everyone share the majority of the nights/weekends.