ER NY RESIDENCY COST OF LIVING?? IMPROVE FUTURE ER APP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ER23

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am a second year medical student interested in Emergency Medicine. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get advice from current ER residents on how to be competitive. I also have additional questions:

1) Is research required or recommended to specialize/match into emergency medicine?
2) What Step score should I range in to match into Columbia/NYU ER Residencies?
3) Are Grades in first year important? Will they hurt you when matching into a top ER Residency?
4) Columbia has an ER Resident salary of 71K and NYU is around 65K, where do ER Residents in NY live? How much do you pay a month in rent? Is the salary enough or will you be living like a broke undergrad student again? What is your monthly/bi weekly check look like after taxes?
5) For those who are NY ER Residents, what program are you in and do you get to pick day/night shift schedule?

I really appreciate your advice!!

Thank You!!!

Members don't see this ad.

1) Research is always recommended for anything to make your application more competitive but if it will in any way cut into your board/clinical performance then it is certainly not required. Honestly it is probably a better way to get to know residents/attendings at your home program.
2) It is pointless to shoot for specific residency programs at this point. Aim for the highest score you can, try to do an away rotation at one of these programs early in your fourth year, and hope for the best. There are a multitude of ED (by the way, the preferred nomenclature is ED or EM rather than ER) programs in NYC. Ones that are as strong as NYU or Columbia (Sinai, SLR, Kings).
3) No unless you failed multiple classes.