ER Technician with bad sciences starting over

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

everglow

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I started college at a private school in the midwest. The school ended up not being a fit, and I ended up leaving after a year and half--but not before getting C's and D's in my sciences, and just above that in my other classes.

I started taking classes casually at the local CC once I moved home, and transferred to UCSB (University of California, Santa Barbara) this academic year after recieving A's and B's for the last year at the CC.

At this point in time, my science GPA is somewhere around 2.4 and my overall around 3.4.

I spent the entire time while I was at home working full time as an ER tech. I have approx. 2 years of intensive Emergency experience, and could obtain very positive letter of reccomendation from 5+ physicians. I am a licensed EMT-B.

I plan retaking ALL my sciences here, and should complete a BS in biopsychology in about 3 years. I have also taken steps to participate in research as an assistent, which should come to fruition this upcoming quarter. My grades this first quarter are ehhh, B's across the board. There were some intense personal issues this quarter which have been repaired. From here on out, I expect A's.

I am a disabled student--Non Verbal Learning Disorder, ADD, Depression, and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. I receive notes and extended test times in my courses.

What, if I bring my sciences up to a 3.3 and my overall to a 3.6, are my chances of getting into a US med school with a good MCAT? Will my disorder affect my candidacy? Will an upward curve like this be enough?

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Your experience as an ED tech as well as your good upward trend will give you a decent chance as long as you get a good MCAT.