ESTU Quillen College of Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anybody attend, interview or know about QCOM?
How does the teaching compare to other facilities? And what about the quality of education, atmosphere and residency placement etc. :)

ANY input will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an undergrad at ETSU right now, but I've been accepted to Quillen for Fall 2009. I can honestly say that there is no other place that I would rather be. When I first came here 3 and a half years ago as a freshman, I really didn't like Johnson City that much, but this region has really grown on me, so much that I don't want to move away!

As far as the actual medical school is concerned, I can tell you what I know/have observed during my undergrad tenure here. Quillen is a small school (60 students per class) that gives a good family environment. The campus and facilities are awesome, and the main building is relatively new (2001). Teaching facilities, including a state of the art large simulation lab, are great. The professors and staff that I've had the opportunity to interact with have been nothing but nice and helpful. The medical school is affiliated with Johnson City Medical Center, the VA Medical Center, Holston Valley Medical Center, and Bristol Regional Medical Center. It also operates its own clinical offices/departments through ETSU Physicians and Associates.

My interview at Quillen was very laid back. The people there are much more interested in getting to know you as a person. They are looking for people that they think will make excellent primary care physicians (which is the school's main mission), even though I plan on going into surgery.

The only drawback that I can think of (but of course my opinion may be a little biased) would be for someone who likes a big city/big school atmosphere.

Hope this helps....