Ethical dilemma essay - taboo to talk about money?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skiing

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The wording of Duke's secondary seems to specifically ask for a life-changing experience when it asks for an ethical dilemma.

Would it be taboo to write about moral issues involved with handling money? I want to talk about a large inheritance I received - how I had to come to a decision to prioritize certain values over others; I ultimately end with discussing how this dilemma made me realize that influence cannot be measured by scalable achievements, that generosity has the same spirit in context of an individual as well as a larger-scale philanthropic endeavor, and as a doctor I would prioritize these things - living a life of generosity, using my skills without expectation of reciprocity, rather than quantifying success with scalable measurements, prioritizing the people-value of actions made by money and time.

I know I'll never be classified as URM anyway, so I thought there's no use in hiding it.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't want to appear greedy by talking about how I had a pot of money and had a ethical problem related to it?

Members don't see this ad :)
Sounds reasonable. You don't need to feel guilty about your inheritance. It's what you ultimately do with your life that matters most. Highlight the person behind the money.

how much money are we talking baout?