Ethical Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Throw Away2

Reaction score
deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a doctoral student at an APA accred. university. For practicum I do neuro evaluations and report writing for a psychologist in the community. Since working for them I have noted many things which concern me and I'm not sure what to do about it. The psychologist works 15 or so hours a week and expects to maintain the same income they did when they worked full time 20+ years ago.

1. The psychologist pays a psychometrist to do testing, but also requires them to write reports. They do a terrible job with reports, but its not really their fault. The psychologist removes their name from the final report and the patient and insurance is non the wiser. The psychologist does the same with my reports. The psychologist then bills it as if they did all the work themselves.

2. The psychologist continually requires me to work beyond my hours limit each week. I cannot go into too much detail so I can stay anonymous. I have tried to set boundaries with the psychologist by explaining my cap on hours, but they ignore it or become angry with me. I have spoken with my program faculty about this. They said they are aware and have spoken with them before about requiring students to make up hours even if the psychologist did not have people to test.

3. The psychologist sends home testing protocols with patients so they do not have to stay in the office while the patient completes forms (e.g. MMPIs and PAIs). Many times we are doing assessments for court cases and disability. I suspect that sometimes the patient looks up response patterns to manipulate their results.