Ethical tutor situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HolyGrail

A magnum opus suscipio
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a public and private tutor at my University, I charge $20/hr privately, and work for free with people who can't afford it...

That being said, there is a person in desperate need of a tutor, who currently has a D in this class, and "Needs to be able to take Lab next semester". The case is that this person basically needs to get a BC at the University to go on I believe(I don't know I've never had a poor grade like that).

Said person is offering me more than my going rate, and a bonus if this person can get the grade needed. I see this as a great opportunity to make some money(Which I desperately need for the upcoming expenses!), but I also feel that once I meet with the person, and see whether or not the student is capable, I might have reservations about abilities, and thus the effectiveness of tutoring the student.

I've been tutoring for Organic Chemistry for the past 2 years now, I know the ins and outs, I know the professors etc... But this is the week of finals, I have literally 7 days to teach this student everything in first semester Organic Chemistry, how optimistic/pessimistic should I be? Should I even touch this?

Members don't see this ad.

I would suggest having the person pay you normal rate and tell him/her that if they get the grade they want they could give you a holiday "gift" but you will only charge regular rate and remind that individual that they waited too late into the course to seek help and you didn't want the additional pressure.