Ethics Questions: Report to state department vs. encourage pt to disclose to sexual encounters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

supadupasid

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm studying for ethics, and I had a quick question concerning how a physician addresses positive STIs results. If a patient is positive for chlam or gon and the patient wants to keep it quiet, what's the physicians first reaction? I've seen questions where the answer is to report to state and other questions where its to encourage. But, what if I had a question with both answer choices? What is more important? I feel like both are important. Honestly, I imagine you'd do both, but what addresses the question more if the patient doesn't want the doctor to tell the patient's spouse.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm studying for ethics, and I had a quick question concerning how a physician addresses positive STIs results. If a patient is positive for chlam or gon and the patient wants to keep it quiet, what's the physicians first reaction? I've seen questions where the answer is to report to state and other questions where its to encourage. But, what if I had a question with both answer choices? What is more important? I feel like both are important. Honestly, I imagine you'd do both, but what addresses the question more if the patient doesn't want the doctor to tell the patient's spouse.

First, ask why patient feels that way. Second, educate and encourage the patient to tell partner(s). If patient is still not wanting to, tell them you have to report it.

I think that's right. someone else can correct me if I'm wrong. You have to try to work it out w/your patient with trust, information and logic before reporting to the state department I've always thought (on exams anyway).

Reactions: 1 user