Everyone's Gpa As An Undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ooscubaoo

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, i was wondering if those of you who are already in pharmacy school could post your overall undergrad GPA, as well as your science GPA. I just want to know how the competition is. I'm a second year student at UCI and i have an overall gpa of 3.269. I'm not sure what my Science GPA is, since i'ts split into bio and physical science. My bio gpa is a 3.0 and my physical science which includes chem and math classes is a 3.6. I think the only reason i have such a low gpa is because of my two writing courses which came out to be around a 2.5.

I'm scared i won't make it to pharmacy school because of the competition, i've been told by some that i should give up on pharmacy school and switch major while i have the chance. I'm really concerned because this quarter is probably the hardest quarter i've taken @ uci. I'm hanging on to B-'s in my o chem class, biochemistry class, calc class and history class. WHat do you guys think? should i give up now or continue?

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by ooscubaoo
WHat do you guys think? should i give up now or continue?

By all means, continue! Don't give up if you are truly passionate about pursuing pharmacy. Your cumulative and science gpa's are above 3.0, which is very competitive. There are more important things than grades...good recommendation letters, volunteer work, extracurricular activities, pharmacy experience, communication skills, leadership abillity, good interview results. To be a truly competitive applicant, you should focus on presenting yourself as a well-rounded student who has the desire, motivation, and drive to pursue a pharmacy career. As difficult as it is to digest, grades aren't everything.

Don't be frightened and, more importantly, don't give up! Good luck with your decision :)