Expediting Interview Decision for Military Deployment?

gshocked

7+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2012
Status
Pre-Medical
I am an active duty Army officer applying this cycle, and recently found out that I will be moving to another unit that may be deploying in December.

I got in my secondaries quickly after my MCAT results came out in August, but that still puts me behind the power curve in the review stack for interview slots.

Does anyone have experience or advice regarding requests for expediting the secondary review?

NotASerialKiller

2+ Year Member
Jul 7, 2015
Status
Medical Student
I'm pretty sure that this is one of the only reasons that med schools will grant an early decision for. Good luck, hopefully someone will have more specific tips.

LizzyM

the evil queen of numbers
10+ Year Member
Mar 7, 2005
Status
Academic Administration
I think that you should put everything in an email to each school to which you've applied (use the bcc function to keep each school in the dark about the other schools to which you've applied.)
You might say something along the lines of "given the [xx]% probability that I will be [overseas/in [place name] /deployed <--choose whichever you wish] beginning in December 2015, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to interview not later than November 30. I anticipate returning to the US in [month] 2016 and anticipate discharge in [month] 2016. I thank you for the opportunity to be considered for admission to medical school.

This should light a fire under schools that might consider you for interview but won't motivate those who weren't going to invite you anyway.

Aug 26, 2013
Status
Medical Student
I don't have any advice to you for early interviews, but I am assuming you will be able to leave the service before school starts next fall? I would be incredibly leery of a December deployment. You could easily be looking at not getting back until after school starts depending on where and what you are deploying for.

LizzyM