MSW Experience Prior to Getting MSW and Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychMajorUndergrad18

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am currently a student in a Masters in Counseling program that is not CACREP-accredited that I am about halfway through and I am looking to apply to MSW programs within the next year or two. My undergrad GPA was kinda bad and so far I have a good GPA in grad school but I was wondering in what ways could I boost my application in order to have a better chance at getting accepted? I saw that a few programs encouraged experience in social work and so I was wondering what are some good ways to get experience in the field without a degree in SW? Do you all think it is a good idea to try to find a place where I could volunteer or do you all think it is better to try to spend a few years in an SW position before I apply to MSW programs? Also, do you all also think it is a good idea to try to get a letter of recommendation from a professor or should I wait until my field placement to ask a supervisor for a letter of recommendation?

Thank you,
PsychMajorUndergrad18

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So you are planning to finish your MA degree and then get an MSW? I’m confused about why you’d get both when they’re essentially equivalent degrees in practice (this would be a waste of money and time).

If you plan to drop out of your MA program, you’ll need to be prepared to explain why to places you apply.
Any job working with folks 1-on-1 in a community organization would be helpful experience, but I’m not sure it’d be necessary if you have experience practicing therapy already...

Letters from different settings would be ideal, I would say, with a letter from a professor and a letter from someone familiar with your work/practice.