ExPhys/ ATs / Non-traditionals...your advice please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ExPhys

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok here is my situation:

I am 24 and have had a passion for medicine my entire life. I lacked the confidence I
needed to persue it because I was not supposed to be able to survive college! I was not
the "college type" whatever the hell that is???

Anyway, I graduated with a BS in Exercise Physiology. Along the way I took gen bio,
cell bio, anatomy, physiology ect.... on top of my required curriculum. Just for sh*ts and
giggles! (Hey leave me alone, I like the stuff). While in undergrad (all 5 years), I worked
32 + hours a week. I had an internship in Cardiac Rehabilitation during my last semester
which sparked my interest in becoming a doctor. Seems I was having much more fun in
the Cath. Lab than in the clinic!!! I took 2 graduate level classes as an undergrad that I
did well in.

Currently I am at the Univ. of Pittsburgh getting my MS in exercise physiology. This will
help me get some research experience. I am interested in diabetes, energy metabolism /
biochem, and cardiovascular Pathophysiology. My problem is that I need Gen Chem I
and II, Physics I and II, as well as the dreaded Organic Chem I and II.

Here is my plan, let me know what you think!
This summer I am going to take Gen. Chem I and II, along with a class for my Masters.
But due to travel time and work, I am gonna take Gen Chem at a CC.
In the Fall I am going to take Physics.
The summer I may have an internship at Lake Placid Olympic Training Site, working
with olympic athletes (if things go the way I hope).
Take Organic I and II the following year with some other classes like genetics,
immunology things that spark my interest. Hit the MCAT's and apply!

Plan #2 is:
This summer take Gen. Chem I and II, along with a class for my Masters. But due to