Explaining assault in application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Roundup

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, new to SDN so let me know if this isn't the right place for this thread :). (I just moved it because I accidentally posted it in the wrong place already, yikes)

I'm currently a rising sophomore with a current BCPM GPA of 3.36 (Although it's only for four classes and a lab) and an overall GPA of 3.71. Last semester, I was assaulted by a man I was on a date with, and it wasn't until recently that I sought out help for dealing with the trauma. The same semester I got a C+ in general chemistry II, tanking my GPA, because I was trying to help myself on my own rather than go seek professional help from the experience, digging myself a hole in the process.

My question is would it be advisable to list this as a reason for this major dip in my BCPM GPA come application time, or should I avoid talking about this grade and the incident completely? I'm worried because I was planning to major in the humanities (philosophy), which means that I really can't afford to mess with my BCPM GPA with lower grades in the science courses I can fit in my schedule on top of my future career path being hindered by a major circumstance I didn't have any control over. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you have anyone on the faculty whom you have confided in? Someone who could write a letter 2-3 years from now stating that you have made a strong come-back after suffering an assault as a freshman that left you struggling to maintain your previous level of academic excellence. If this person can write such a letter after knowing you for 3-4 years, you will be in fine shape.