Extension courses or community college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arpster234

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a recent graduate of UC San Diego with a BA in Sociology and Medicine. I was accepted to UCSD as a junior transfer from a community college and have decided I want to go to medical school and I have been looking into taking the pre-requisites at UCLA Extension. However, the same courses I need to take are available at community colleges and they are less expensive than Extension courses which is why I am looking into them at all. I just want to know if it looks better to have taken classes at UCLA Extension rather than at a community college.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am a recent graduate of UC San Diego with a BA in Sociology and Medicine. I was accepted to UCSD as a junior transfer from a community college and have decided I want to go to medical school and I have been looking into taking the pre-requisites at UCLA Extension. However, the same courses I need to take are available at community colleges and they are less expensive than Extension courses which is why I am looking into them at all. I just want to know if it looks better to have taken classes at UCLA Extension rather than at a community college.

Thank you!

Hi arpster234! I'm an MS3 right now, and I took the majority of my pre-med pre-reqs at a community college. I did take a few more advanced courses (Biochem, Genetics) at UCLA Extension, though. I never received any negative comments about my community college classes during my med school interviews (but then again, it's not like I interviewed at every school I applied to, so I guess I can't say for certain how all schools perceive CC classes!).