rwk66

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 3, 2003
Pittsburgh
Visit site
Status
Hi all - I'm in the midst of preparing for the MCAT, and if all goes well, I'll start med school in Fall of 2006. I graduated from college in 2000, and have taken the pre-req classes part-time while I work full time. I'm done with the pre-req's <with the exception of a few labs I need to finish>. I'm wondering - would it be wise for me to take a few advanced Bio classes between now and when I start <assuming I get accepted, etc.>? I've heard first year med students say they wish they would have taken a course in anatomy, or a course in biochem - would this be valuable <I've never taken any bio past I & II>, or am I better served just relaxing and enjoying my free time while I have it?

If this has been discussed elsewhere on the forums, a link to that thread would be great. Thanks.

LSUwannabe

Just vomicked...
10+ Year Member
May 8, 2004
NOLA
www.mdapplicants.com
Status
If you're confident you'll get in w/o any additional courses you could certainly lay low...

That stated, I graduated w/ BS in BCHM and took an anatomy. If you've had NO biochem or anatomy they might actually help-especially when taken w/in a year of matriculation into medical school.

My personal feeling is they'll teach you everything you need to know so why bother?

Good luck.

txguy

10+ Year Member
Apr 18, 2004
refer to screen name
Status
Attending Physician
rwk66 said: